10 Years Earlier

Father – Drunk, Addict, Dangerous 

Mother – depressed, damaged, broken.

Brother – spiralling, addict?

Her – stuck in an endless battle of guilt and selfishness.

 

I would give anything to have a normal family. It’s not always like that. When it is, it’s hard. I just want to shut off and forget. Forget where I am, who I am and where I belong. To become somebody else. I look at their lives, those around me. I know not everyone has it peachy but I would love for it to be different. No arguments, no drunken ramblings of addicts that make no sense to anyone not in their world.

Fraying at the edges like a carpet caught on a nail in a dusty market in summer. Slowly ripping and tearing apart, disappearing. The nuclear unit within the whole was fracturing. Keeping up the façade that all was well was beginning to falter. She felt like she was about to be swallowed whole by the overwhelming emotions she was slowly succumbing to. Would they notice she had gone? Possibly, once she had disappeared for good.

 

It felt like a lifetime ago.

It was still real.

Leave a comment